Deemed as the first Vietnamese play ever staged in the United Kingdom, how can you not be excited as a fellow Southeast Asian and immigrant?

Never been to Old Vic before, so I had zero idea of the venue. Once I arrived, it appears to be a welcoming, open space bar area with the ticketing till near the entrance. Not only spacey, the venue is artsy as well. I especially adore the ‘filigree’ of the high windows facing the street.

Approaching the big bar in the centre of the space, I ordered the espresso martini to jolt me awake, and a pint of ale to go in the theatre. Learning from my mistake and remember to ask for the biodegradable pint glass when ordering at the bar.

It was such a nice surprise to find the cozy theatre with only three rows on each side, definitely different to the St David in Cardiff where I last saw a play.
The cozy seats provide the intimate atmosphere matching the storyline of the Vietnamese family. I got the prime spot in the middle top row on the ground floor level instead of balcony.

The play consists of two phases. The first phase portrayed in linear direction depicting the 20th century war history and how if affects the dynamic of an ordinary Vietnamese family.

It was very refreshing to see the culturally honest portrayal and dialogue involved in this production. As a fellow Asian, I definifely appreciate the little nostalgic behavioral cues that are unashamedly Asian.

I love how the plot thickens with few twists in the middle of the play which stretches beyond domestic life and providing cues to the British influence over the commons.

Phase two provides us with more links to the past and the the exciting near future into the closing phase. I love how it is more complex, nuance, but also clearer just like the progression of Mai’s state.

Last but not least, in the most theatrical spirit, the play ended on the most profound note on why they do what they do.

Freedom is…

Without giving off much spoiler, please do support minority community production and buy the few last remaining tickets available for their second and last stage tonight.

Leave a comment